Full-time students register for five modules.Part-time students register for all the modules except for the specialisation modules and the research essay in the first year. In the second year part-time students register for the specialisation modules and the research essay. All elective modules are not necessarily offered every year.

The Honours programme consists of five modules, of which four are compulsory and one is an elective module:

Compulsory modules:

Semester 1 / Semester 2

  • Communication Theory
  • Research Essay
  • Journalism
  • Applied Journalism Communication

Elective modules:

  • Communication Management and Persuasion
  • Development Communication and Identity
  • New Media and Culture

If a student intends specialising in a specialist field in which an undergraduate module was not offered, extended reading and/or an oral examination will be required.

Permission may be granted by the Head of the Department to take an honours module from another major.

Admission requirements

Students should have a 65% average for all undergraduate Communication subjects and/or the discretion of the Chairperson of the Department is sought (see General Regulations).

Contact details

Name: Mrs Elna Rossouw
Tel: 011 559 3434 / Email: erossouw@uj.ac.za

Program taught in:

See 135 more programs offered by University of Johannesburg »

This course is Campus based
Start Date
Feb 2020
By locations
By date
Start Date
Feb 2020
End Date
Application deadline

Feb 2020

Application deadline
End Date